Report of the Executive Committee ARRL Board of Directors January 2021

Ladies and Gentlemen:

Following are noteworthy actions of the Executive Committee (EC) since the July/August Board Meeting.

The EC continued its work as members of the CEO Search Committee. The group completed their Board directive with the arrangement for CEO candidate interviews at Denver in August after which the Board subsequently met and selected our new CEO, David Minster. This assignment required an extraordinary amount of time for the EC members and they did a superior job.

On August 26, 2020, the FCC released a *Notice of Proposed Rulemaking* in which it proposed a \$50 fee for new or renewal applications, vanity call applications, and license upgrade applications. (ODV:30824) The *NPRM* was published in the Federal Register in MD Docket No. 20-270 on October 30, 2020. (ODV:31184) The EC worked with our Washington counsel, Dave Siddall, K3ZJ, to develop instructions and arguments to assist our members in filing comments to strongly oppose the FCC's proposal. (ODV:30978; 31184) The EC also worked with Mr. Siddall to file comments in opposition and to seek a waiver of fees which were filed on November 16, 2020. (ODV:31336) The FCC subsequently issued a Report and Order on December 29, 2020, to lower the proposed fee to \$35, asserting the amount was reasonable. (ODV:31565)

On September 30, 2020, in a *Report and Order* and *Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (FNPRM)*, the FCC adopted their proposal in *NPRM*, WT Docket 19-348, to remove the amateur allocations from the 3.3-3.5 GHz. amateur band. (ODV:31092) The EC worked with Mr. Siddall on arguments for drafting a *Petition for Reconsideration* which was filed with the FCC on November 9, 2020. (ODV:31305) Additionally, the EC worked with Mr. Siddall in filing comments to address issues raised in the FNPRM. Those comments were filed on November 20, 2020. (ODV:31360) Further, the EC worked with Mr. Siddall to file reply comments to address opposition filed by CTIA to our *Petition for Reconsideration*. Those reply comments were filed on January 4, 2021. (ODV:31592)

The ARRL Board had previously approved the 2021 Orlando HamCation as the ARRL National Convention. Due to COVID-19, the event this year had to be cancelled and the request was made by the HamCation Executive Board to host the National Convention in 2022. The EC reviewed the situation and was unanimous in keeping the National Convention at Orlando HamCation for 2022. (ODV:31033)

In 2019, the ARRL filed comments with the FCC in support of AMSAT's position addressing satellite debris issues and mitigation of orbital debris in IB Docket No. 18-313. Mr. Siddall and AMSAT-NA Executive Vice President Paul Stoetzer, N8HM, have been working together on this open item. The FCC released a *Report and Order* and *Further Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (FNPR)* in this matter on April 2, 2020, and ARRL filed *Ex Parte* comments with the FCC on April 9, 2020. (ODV:30106) As part of this ongoing proceeding, the EC reviewed comments for filing with the FCC to address the unique characteristics of Amateur satellites and the need to adjust the proposed rules accordingly. Those comments were filed on October 9, 2020. (ODV:31141)

At the request of Dave Sumner (IARU), the EC worked with Mr. Siddall to file comments on two topics (3 GHz and 10 GHz) related to preparations for WRC-2023. The FCC sought comments on draft recommendations by the World Radiocommunication Conference Advisory Committee. Mr. Jon Siverling, WB3ERA, ARRL Technical Relations Specialist, also assisted. Comments were filed on November 2, 2020. (ODV:31281)

The EC held a fall meeting on October 22, 2020, at which time it was decided that the January Board meeting would be a virtual meeting due to COVID-19. (ODV:31225)

I want to thank the members of the EC for their hard work and dedication to Amateur Radio and the League.

Respectfully submitted,

Rick Roderick – K5UR Chair, Executive Committee

Members: Director Tom Abernethy – W3TOM Director Kermit Carlson – W9XA Director Bud Hippisley – W2RU Director Fred Hopengarten – K1VR Director Dale Williams – WA8EFK First Vice President Mike Raisbeck – K1TWF Chief Executive Officer David Minster – NA2AA President Rick Roderick – K5UR