## Report of the Executive Committee ARRL Board of Directors July 2020

Ladies and Gentlemen:

Following are noteworthy actions of the Executive Committee (EC) since the January Board Meeting.

While not an EC item per se, it's noteworthy to mention that the Directors on the EC are also members of the CEO Search Committee (CEOSC). The actions of the CEOSC have required an extraordinary amount of time and at this point the group has held twenty-one conference calls since the January Board meeting. Additionally, some members on the EC are also on the Emergency Management Director Selection Committee which, like the CEOSC, has required substantial time commitment. Consequently, the EC members have been almost totally consumed with these important assignments.

The EC worked with our Washington counsel, Dave Siddall, K3ZJ, to file comments in opposition to the FCC's proposal to delete the 3 GHz secondary amateur radio allocation (3.3-3.5 GHz). The comments, filed on February 21, were in response to an FCC *Notice of Proposed Rulemaking* in WT Docket 19-348. (ODV:29721)

The EC also worked with Mr. Siddall to file comments regarding the 5.9 GHz band. The FCC invited comments on a *Notice of Proposed Rule Making* in WT Docket 19-138, which said the FCC would take "a fresh and comprehensive look" at the rules for the 5.9 GHz band. The FCC does not propose to change the secondary amateur allocation, but proposes to make 5.850 - 5.895 GHz available for unlicensed operations and to authorize transportation-related communication technologies to use 5.895 - 5.925 GHz. (ODV:29822)

On April 2, 2020, the FCC released a draft *Report and Order*, IB Docket 18-313, addressing mitigation of orbital debris. Recall that a year ago the ARRL filed comments with the FCC in support of AMSAT's position addressing satellite debris issues. On April 8, 2020, Mr. Siddall, and AMSAT-NA Executive Vice President Paul Stoetzer, N8HM, met by teleconference with FCC officials in regard to the proceedings. The EC subsequently reviewed draft *Ex Parte* comments for filing with the FCC which was done on April 9. (ODV:30106)

The EC worked with Mr. Siddall on a *Petition for Clarification* addressing issues from the amended FCC RF safety rules and exposure limits. The filing was made on May 12, 2020. (ODV:30279)

The EC reviewed draft comments from Mr. Siddall addressing the FCC's proposals to extend its RF exposure rules by adopting new standards and limits in *Notice of Proposed Rule Making*, ET Docket 19-226. Substantial analysis was done by Ed Hare and Director Carlson in assisting Mr. Siddall. Comments were filed on June 19, 2020. (ODV:30431) These proceedings could potentially have significant negative ramifications against Amateur Radio due to emerging wireless power transfer (WPT) technology. It was anticipated that further comments to address these issues would be made in a Reply brief due July 20, 2020, however, Mr. Siddall upon learning more about potential parties determined that he would have a conflict in proceeding with preparation of the Reply brief and thus had to withdraw as counsel. The Legal Structure Review Committee subsequently selected, upon reviewing recommendations from Mr. Siddall, another Washington counsel, Mr. Michael Lazarus, to prepare comments for EC review prior to filing.

The EC reviewed the HF band planning recommendations from the HF Band Planning Committee. See Board Document #25

The EC approved for the first time an ARRL sanctioned "virtual" hamfest promoted by *QSO Today*, a popular amateur radio podcast, to a world-wide audience. Perhaps this will be a new trend given the world we live in today.

I want to thank the members of the EC for their hard work and dedication to Amateur Radio and the League.

Respectfully submitted,

Rick Roderick – K5UR Chair, Executive Committee

Members: Director Tom Abernethy – W3TOM Director Kermit Carlson – W9XA Director Bud Hippisley – W2RU Director Fred Hopengarten – K1VR Director Dale Williams – WA8EFK First Vice President Mike Raisbeck – K1TWF Interim Chief Executive Officer Barry Shelley – N1VXY President Rick Roderick – K5UR